DIY Friday: Minty Fresh Toothpaste

 

Here is what is different about DIY toothpaste; it doesn’t foam and the taste takes some getting use to because the primary ingredient is baking soda.

I tested out the final product and my teeth felt super clean the aftertaste was actually refreshing.

Get a small container (I used an old jam container) and combine 6 tbsp baking soda + 1/2 tsp salt + 4 tsp vegetable glycerine + 15 drops peppermint essential oil.  Vegetable glycerine can be found at most health food stores; in Toronto check out Optimum Natural Foods in The Junction.  I use a brand called Now as seen below.

The consistency could be described as a loose paste.  To keep things sanitary, I just added a small spoon to the jar which can be used to scoop paste onto my toothbrush.

If you have kids, I hear that an orange or vanilla essential oil works well instead of peppermint.

Let me know what you think of these recipes!

One thought on “DIY Friday: Minty Fresh Toothpaste

  1. Pingback: DIY Sunday – Getting Clean Green Stylez « THE HEALTH JUNCTION

Leave a Reply

