A mint chocolate “nib” smoothie fit for Gwyneth Paltrow

I don’t know why, but I hear a lot of people have beef with Gwyneth Paltrow.

GOOP

Not sure why, but Gwyneth really bothers people.  My hippie vegetarian sister who hasn’t washed her hair in 15 years is about as holistic as they come…and even she thinks Gwyn is a smug jerk.

Sister Sharon
Sister Sharon

I quite enjoy Gwyn and her natural foods/lifestyle blog, http://www.goop.com.  While her cookbook yields some pretty delicious food, I agree some of the ingredients are a bit tough to find.  I have to say, that even though it can be annoying to find some of the obscure ingredients, the payoff with Gwyn is always big.

gwyneth-paltrow-sticks-to-her-diet-while-family-eats-pizza-and-pasta__oPt

I saw a recipe for a mint chocolate chip smoothie on GOOP.com that required something called raw cacao nibs and I was stumped but determined to make this smoothie happen.  Lucky for me, I happened to pass by the  ChocoSol food stand this past weekend at the Evergreen Brick Works which is my favourite place in all of Toronto.  ChocoSol makes and sells chocolate products here in Toronto using ingredients from indigenous communities in the Lacondon Jungle of Chiapas and the Oaxacan mountains of Southern Mexico…part of their product line includes raw cacao nibs.

Photo Credit:  The Torontoist
Photo Credit: The Torontoist

Raw cacao nibs, by the way, are cocoa beans that have been roasted, separated from their husks and broken into smaller pieces.  Raw cacao is high in zinc, iron, magnesium and antioxidants.

Raw Cacao Nibs

With my ChocoSol raw cacao nibs in arm, I attempted Gwyn’s smoothie with my own modification and the results were…spectacular.

Photo Credit:  GOOP.com
Photo Credit: GOOP.com

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp Manitoba Harvest Pro 70 Hemp Protein Powder (15 grams of vegan protein!)
  • large handful of spinach
  • 5 oz water
  • 5 oz unsweetened almond milk
  • 1/3rd avocado
  • 1/8th tsp pure peppermint extract
  • 1 tsp raw honey (in Toronto, try Bees’ Universe unpasteurized Wildflower Honey available at the Evergreen Brickworks Farmers’ Market)
  • 1 tbsp raw Cacao Nibs (try ChocoSol’s as it is DELISH!)

Blend well and serve for an invigorating morning smoothie or afternoon pick-me-up snack.

THE DAILY DL (Dalai Lama)

“I’d rather smoke crack than eat cheese from a tin.”

–  Gwyneth Paltrow

**DISCLAIMER: PLEASE NOTE THAT ANY ADVERTISEMENTS THAT APPEAR ON THIS PAGE DO NOT REFLECT THE VIEWS AND OPINIONS OF THE HEALTH JUNCTION**

***follow The Health Junction by entering your email here in the “Follow Blog via Email” box***

4 thoughts on “A mint chocolate “nib” smoothie fit for Gwyneth Paltrow

  1. it’s because she is smug, patronizing and holier than thou. She comes from privilege and assumes everyone else does as well. She has zero qualifications from which to espouse her healthy living tips and is a mish mash of Oprah, Wayne Dyer and Prada. She’s everything that is wrong with our culture and like your very astute sister, I hate her as well. Plus, for someone so healthy- she has awful hair. That being said, whoever she ripped that smoothie’s recipe off from, should be credited as it sounds delciious. You know Evan’s dad collects honey from his place up North, right? I had it with brie on Sat. Delicious! xo Cathy

    • I hear you on the smug and holier than thou thing…that’s what my sister said. I need to live in blind ignorance b/c her cookbook is so good and as a nutritionist, I have to say…the recipes are pretty healthy. I didn’t know about Evan! I need to hit his pops up for some raw croatian honey!

  2. This sounds just absolutely delicious and kudos for you for actually finding the ‘nibs’.
    I’m going to stay away from hating Gwyneth as I agree that some of the recipes are awesome and I think we’re often deluding ourselves when we think that other stars are “down to earth” anyway.

Leave a Reply

